ICOLD formed a Young Engineers’ Forum in Lucerne in 2011 and has encouraged National Committees to form National Fora which will link into the ICOLD Forum.  SANCOLD during its Annual Event in 2012 in Hilton called a meeting of SANCOLD Young Engineers to discuss the matter and to determine a way forward.  SANCOLD Vice-Chairperson Ivor Segers at the time, as a Young Engineer, took the lead in this matter.  A “Young Engineer” is defined as a person below the age of 35 years.  The purpose of the Young Engineers’ Forum is to ensure that they are incorporated into ICOLD and National Committee structures (eg SANCOLD).  For instance ICOLD started to give prizes since 2012 for the best papers by Young Engineer.  Substantial discounts on registration fees are also provided.  SANCOLD Young Engineers started submitting papers and made presentations at the SANCOLD Conference since 2013. 

A new SANCOLD YEF Chairperson was elected during the SANCOLD Conference 2013.  MotebeleMoshodiof the Department of Water and Sanitation was elected for the term 2013 to 2016. 

The SANCOLD Constitution was subsequently changed to include the SANCOLD YEF Chairperson on the SANCOLD Management Committee, in addition to the two elected under 35 year old member. The current Young Engineer members of the Management committee is Mrs Mari Trumpelmann (term 2013 to 2017) and MsJarethaLombaard (term 2017 to 2019).

An election for a new Chairperson is scheduled for the first half of 2017. 


SANCOLD YEF Chairperson Motebele Moshodi



We already have 50 members of the SANCOLD Young Engineers’ Forum. If you are interested, contact Motebele on This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

SANCOLD has been encouraging the participation of Young Engineers in the organisation and as an incentive, a prize (Apple Ipad mini) was given to the best paper prepared and presented by a Young Engineer during the annual SANCOLD Conference since 2013.  The past recipients include:

  • ·2013: MfundoVezi of the University of Cape Town for his paper on Dynamic modelling of arch dams in the ambient state.
  • 2014: Christiaan Marais of AECOM for his paper Computational fluid dynamic modelling of the Spring Grove Dam’s spillway.
  • 2015: Louis Coetzee of SMEC/University of Pretoria for his paperEvaluation of the influence of 3-dimensional upstream flow and geometric parameters when designing an ogee spillway.
  • 2016 (ICOLD 2016 – Best Paper: Takahiro Koshiba, Japan for his paper titled Development of a Bedload Transport Measuring System for Sediment Bypass Tunnels in Japan.
  • 2016 (ICOLD 2016 – Best presentation): Sonel Reynolds of the Department of Water and Sanitation for her presentation onDe-Commissioning of Hammarsdale Dam by Transforming it from a Contaminated Problem Child into a Sustainable Wetland.


YE Winners 2016

 2016 YE Paper and Presentation winners with SANCOLD Chairman and Vice-Chairman (From left to right: D Badenhorst, T Koshiba, S Reynolds, Q Shaw)


Download YEF - Vison and Mission here

Download YEF - Minutes of meeting September 1, 2015


joomla templatesfree joomla templatestemplate joomla

SANCOLD Scholarship 2018 

Application for the SANCOLD Scholarship will close on 31 March 2018. Please the attached background and application.

Download document 1

Download document 2

Download document 3



The 11th CHINCOLD Workshop is scheduled  for  12 to 19 October 2018. More detaiks are available as per the attachment.

Read More (PDF)

Tribute to Dr Chris Oosthuizen.

Our friend and colleague Chris Oosthuizen passed away on Saturday 11th November 2017 after a 5 year battle with cancer.

Please download this file for more info

Copyright © 2018  SANCOLD   Design by Aqula Creative Communications |